Christopher Bernard

 

Those of us who follow Jack Foley’s work know that for many years he has been one of our most penetrating critics of poetry and most adventurous of poets, both as author and performer. Immensely erudite, yet curiously endearing, this scholar, critic, poet, controversialist, and radio personality continues, in the tradition of Ezra Pound and Kenneth Rexroth (without the intellectual over-weaning of the one or the bullying impulses of the other), to vitalize the literary scene with his poems and plays and to enlighten it with his provocative investigations of classic and modern poetry…One of American poetry’s essential thinkers and practitioners.

               —Christopher Bernard